Popular keywords

Media Release: Extension of Appointment of Justice of the Court of Appeal

The President of the Republic of Singapore, in accordance with Article 95(2) of the Constitution, has extended the appointment of Justice Tay Yong Kwang as a Justice of the Court of Appeal for a further three-year term, with effect from 3 September 2021.

2.    Justice Tay was appointed Judicial Commissioner of the Supreme Court on 15 October 1997 and subsequently a High Court Judge on 2 January 2003. He was appointed a Judge of Appeal on 1 August 2016. With the structural reforms to the High Court on 2 January 2021, Judges of Appeal are now known as Justices of the Court of Appeal.

3.    Justice Tay’s main areas of specialisation are in criminal law, public and administrative law, including judicial review and intellectual property law.

4.    Besides his judicial duties, Justice Tay chairs the Civil Justice Commission, the Sentencing Council, the Legal Assistance Scheme for Capital Offences and the Rules of Court Working Party. He is also a member of the Electronic Litigation Committee, Presidential Elections Committee and the Singapore International Commercial Court Standing Rules Committee.

5.    With the reappointment of Justice Tay as a Justice of the Court of Appeal, the Supreme Court will have a total of 26 Judges (including Chief Justice, four Justices of the Court of Appeal and three Judges of the Appellate Division), four Judicial Commissioners, three Senior Judges and 16 International Judges.


25 AUGUST 2021

Share this page: